Escaping from Reality With an Extravagant Disney Vacation Like the Celebrities Do It

I’m using my Medium earnings to pay for a VIP tour at Disneyland this summer and I don’t regret it for a second.

Anna (she/her)
6 min readMay 26, 2022
Photo by Valentin G on Unsplash

I am a middle-aged mom with an unhealthy obsession with Disneyland — the original park Walt Disney first created in 1955. I’ve written before here about my love for Disneyland:

For me, my Disney love story started with finding myself and being comfortable in my own skin. At Disneyland, I was no longer the daughter of immigrants, wearing weird clothes sent from relatives in Asia and eating smelly unfamiliar food. At Disneyland, we wore Mickey Mouse ears (which my otherwise frugal parents actually bought for us) and ate churros. I felt like I could blend into the crowd (even as an Asian American) because Disneyland welcomed visitors from all over the world. It was one of the first places where I felt like I really belonged.

My husband tells friends I treat our Disneyland trips like “a coordinated air/land/sea/space assault on a fortified and dug-in position.” He’s not wrong. I invest hours reading DISBoards and other websites identifying the latest tips and tricks to maximize our time, money, and energy.

--

--

Anna (she/her)

9X Top Writer. Proud grad of CA public schools. Committed to justice & leadership development. Wife & mom of 2 girls & 2 big dogs. Love to eat almost everything