Anna (she/her)
1 min readAug 12, 2021

--

I understand and agree that talking about your life might lead to others to think we're bragging. That's why I don't talk about our international trips with our friends. There's plenty else to talk about when we hang out (e.g., kids, hobbies, and eating new ethnic cuisines are three big topics for our friend group).

We also regularly take local road trips so if someone asks, "What did you do over the summer?" I can tell them about a road trip to a small town two hours away. Maybe it's an omission not to share that we had a winter break trip planned to France on the horizon, but I figure there's no need to volunteer extra info if they only asked what our summer was like.

I had a long childhood of trying to blend in/fly under the radar so I know how to read the crowd and not volunteer more than what's asked.

I never lie, so if someone asked me what I did over winter break, I'll mention we went to France for the first time. But it's not something I ever volunteered. I still do fear judgment. Good for you for having a thicker skin than me!

--

--

Anna (she/her)

9X Top Writer. Proud grad of CA public schools. Committed to justice & leadership development. Wife & mom of 2 girls & 2 big dogs. Love to eat almost everything